JC’S Weekly Top 20 Power Rankings (05/16/17)

I thought both RAW and SmackDown had huge bounce back weeks and I enjoyed the overall programming. RAW found a way to replace Braun Strowman for at least this week and seems to be off and running towards Extreme Rules. SmackDown I thought had a very strong go home show for BackLash this Sunday.

Jinder Mahal Smackdown

  1. Jinder Mahal (Last Week – 1)

For the second straight week WWE’s Maharaja sits atop my rankings. He beat AJ Styles and beat down Randy Orton to close SmackDown. I am ready for Jinder Mahal to be the new face that runs the blue place.

maxresdefault

  1. Bray Wyatt (Last Week – 10)

My biggest jump of the week goes to the new face of fear Bray Wyatt. I loved him standing tall to close RAW. I was hoping he would turn on Samoa Joe and he did. I want Bray to win the Fatal 5 Way and challenge Brock Lesnar at Great Balls of Fire.

randy_orton-4

  1. Randy Orton (Last Week – 7)

The WWE Champion got a huge win in the main event of SmackDown over Baron Corbin. I am very excited to see what happens at BackLash when he meets Jinder Mahal for the WWE Championship.

Roman-Reigns-WrestleMania

  1. Roman Reigns (Last Week – 8)

I thought Reigns’ heel promo he cut at the beginning of RAW was fantastic. He flashed his ability to be the big bad guy and I love that WWE continues to just let him do whatever he wants week in and week out with his character. This is one of the few times I will support inconsistency.

C_3ele9WsAAsyo2.0

  1. Kevin Owens (Last Week – 3)

The new face of America Kevin Owens kicked off SmackDown Live and was on commentary for the Jinder Mahal – AJ Styles match. I am excited for the United States championship match on Sunday.

IMG_5884

  1. AJ Styles (Last Week – 4)

Styles is great and as I just said, I am pumped for this match on Sunday.

skysports-alexa-bliss-payback-raw-wwe_3942869

  1. Alexa Bliss (Last Week – 6)

I thought once again Alexa had a superb promo and loved her hitting Bayley with the kendo stick. I do not love the “Kendo Stick on a Pole” match and would have preferred an Extreme Rules bout, but pickers cannot be choosers I guess.

the-miz-and-maryse-wwe-smackdown-900-episode

  1. The Miz (Last Week – 9)

The awesome one defeated Dean Ambrose by disqualification after the lunatic fringe gave him a nice kick to the nads in their Intercontinental Championship match on RAW. The Miz will get his rematch at Extreme Rules where he can win the title by DQ.

Cesaro-Sheamus-Raw-830x467

  1. Shesaro (Last Week – 2)

There was no way Sheamus & Cesaro could hold at the spot they reached last week and only fall because others elevated. I am still very into their feud with the Hardy Boyz.

Breezango-Entrance

  1. Breezango (Last Week – 13)

The rise for Tyler Breeze and Fandango continues this week as this eclectic duo continues to entertain and pick up wins while doing it. I want them to win the championships at BackLash but that is a hope for a reason.

IMG_5883

  1. Dean Ambrose (Last Week – 11)

The Intercontinental champion and The Miz have great chemistry together and I continue to enjoy their work.

untitled-1sasa1

  1. The Hardy Boyz (Last Week – 12)

Team Extreme continues to pick up singles wins versus Shesaro, but we will find out at Extreme Rules if they can retain their championships.

Finn-Balor-Raw-40317-645x370

  1. Finn Balor (Last Week – 16)

I think the Demon King is beginning to get his stuff back despite losing clean to Roman Reigns. Calm down internet, it is not a big deal to lose to THE guy. Balor is trending in the right direction and the more time he gets, the better he will be.

dolph_ziggler_wwe_phoenix_smackdown_raw_talking_stick_resort_arena

  1. Dolph Ziggler (Last Week – 14)

I enjoyed Dolph’s Nakamura hype video which was simply, “footage not found.” I am still excited for this bout at BackLash.

major-push-coming-for-baron-corbin-2017

  1. Baron Corbin (Last Week – 17)

The lone wolf lost to Randy Orton in the main event of SmackDown, but Corbin continues to close shows and that is a good sign of things to come for Baron.

Usos SD Champs

  1. The Usos (Last Week – 20)

The Usos cut yet another fiery promo this week and I am very excited to see this tag team championship match at BackLash.

Screen-Shot-2017-04-02-at-093039

  1. Shinsuke Nakamura (Last Week – 15)

Not on TV, you’re going to slide. He remains ranked because of his marquee match this Sunday.

IMG_5881

  1. Neville (Last Week – 18)

All hail the King of the Cruiserweights and long may he reign.

rsz_backlash2017

  1. Becky Lynch, Naomi, & Charlotte (Last Week – 19)

Too much talent here not to rank and they are getting a ton of screen time. Not too excited for this actual match at BackLash, but hoping something fun comes out of it story wise.

titus-crews-620x350

  1. The Titus Brand (Last Week – Not Ranked)

Hands down the most entertaining segment of the week for me. I was in stitches with that mockery. Say what you want about Titus, but he is doing a great job right now and it is elevating Apollo Crews slowly but surely.

 

Fell from Rankings: Braun Strowman

