JC’S Weekly Top 20 Power Rankings (06/07/17)

Extreme Rules has come and gone for the RAW brand with Money in the Bank on the horizon for SmackDown Live. Brock Lesnar finally returns next week, so expect him to rejoin the rankings then, but for this week he will not be on this list. Lets get into it!

212_back_05212017ej_3245-7a2723c80499294c341c9e31b6c9a9c3

  1. Jinder Mahal (Last Week – 1)

The tweaked entrance was great for Jinder. I especially love the carpet in the ring for him. Jinder looks so good holding that championship and looked even better pinning Mojo Rawley. The Maharaja is still number one.

Roman-Reigns-WrestleMania

  1. Roman Reigns (Last Week – 2)

He is THE GUY, so I’m just going to leave him here.

samoa-joe-extreme-rules

  1. Samoa Joe (Last Week – Not Ranked)

In a big shocker, Samoa Joe became the #1 contender for the Universal Championship. I didn’t love this, but I know the IWC takes personal offense with my feelings. That segment with Paul Heyman was great and a big step in the right direction, I’m just not into this match yet.

IMG_5884

4. AJ Styles (Last Week – 8)

The Phenomenal One got his rematch against Dolph Ziggler and this time was able to knock off The Showoff. Not much else to add here.

Screen-Shot-2017-04-02-at-093039

5. Shinsuke Nakamura (Last Week – 6)

In a fairly quick and clean fashion Shinsuke Nakamura defeated the United States champion Kevin Owens in the main event of SmackDown Live. I expected chicanery, instead it was that. Very interesting.

C_3ele9WsAAsyo2.0

6. Kevin Owens (Last Week – 5)

The United States champion and new face of America lost clean to Nakamura as I just mentioned, but I do not feel it necessary to drop him too far. I think his swap to SmackDown has been strong so far.

maxresdefault

7.Bray Wyatt (Last Week – 4)

The eater of worlds will not be facing Brock Lesnar at Great Balls of Fire and also fell victim to Roman Reigns on RAW. Bray set his sights on Seth Rollins later in the night and I am intrigued by this matchup.

skysports-alexa-bliss-payback-raw-wwe_3942869

8. Alexa Bliss (Last Week – 9)

Huge bounce back week for Alexa Bliss. She got the win at Extreme Rules and then was all over RAW the next night. I thought her backstage segments with Kurt Angle and the other women were great and her running away from Nia Jax was well done as well.

miz-183573

9. The Miz (Last Week – 12)

The Awesome One is now a 7-time Intercontinental champion as he defeated Dean Ambrose at Extreme Rules. I then thoroughly enjoyed the celebration the next night on RAW and am fine with this feud continuing for one more match.

dbhvpp5uiaa8xkb-1496627957-800

10. Shesaro (Last Week – 15)

Sheamus and Cesaro are once again the RAW Tag Team champions. They won their Steel Cage match at Extreme Rules and then proceeded to squash Heath Slater and Rhyno on RAW. Shesaro is back in business.

sd02072017-725x350

11. Dolph Ziggler (Last Week – 7)

Ziggler lost to AJ Styles this week, but hey it’s WWE so they got to 50/50 book it! Yup.

c3fed65505c9de8fbb299cb0f9ef4196_crop_north

12. Seth Rollins (Last Week – 19)

The architect looked great in the Fatal 5 Way match at Extreme Rules. Rollins then became the newest target of Bray Wyatt in the main event of RAW. As far as I can remember I believe this is the first singles feud between the two. I’m interested.

IMG_5881

13. Neville (Last Week – Not Ranked)

Shame on me for dropping THE KING out of my top 20 last week. He’s a stud and put an end to Austin Aries at Extreme Rules. All hail THE KING of the Cruiserweights.

h1aXYxYjE69x2JtFNvcO9BvLsPjs9u6n

14. Breezango (Last Week – 10)

I feel like the Fashion Files get better and better every week. Their work in this week’s episode alongside The New Day was great and I am looking forward to the Fashion Files every week.

20160307_raw_video_ambrose--0d096b99d90d50e6ab5fcf133e5b7df5.jpg

15. Dean Ambrose (Last Week – 13)

The lunatic fringe lost his championship, but boy do I enjoy him with the Drifter. Looking forward to more of that.

Usos SD Champs

16. The Usos (Last Week – 14)

I love the “Usos Penitentiary” nickname. I also love their obnoxious promos. These guys are doing great work right now.

img_0825

17. Finn Balor (Last Week – 3)

The Demon King was choked out by Samoa Joe at Extreme Rules to lose the match and then was absent from RAW. Not the best week for Balor.

major-push-coming-for-baron-corbin-2017

18. Baron Corbin (Last Week – 18)

I liked the aggressive attack by Corbin backstage on Sami Zayn. He then followed that up by attacking Nakamura after the main event and stood tall to end the show.

titus-crews-620x350

19. The Titus Brand featuring Apollo Crews (Last Week – 20)

Slowly but surely a lot of folks are starting to buy into the Titus Brand with Apollo Crews. I have loved it from the get go and I still think it is a highlight of the show. I am curious to see where this recruitment of Akira Tozawa is headed.

99

20. The New Day (Last Week – Not Ranked)

Not having these three around for a while did us all some good. They had to come back eventually and they have been fine so far. Their work with Breezango this week was solid and I look forward to more segments like that for this division.

 

Fell from Rankings: The Hardy Boyz, Charlotte, Becky Lynch

 

